A Perfect Creature

Published June 6, 2012 by pushcake

Hello morning pages. I’m in statistics class right now hoping that I’m not pregnant so that I don’t have to get an abortion. I love the idea of carrying and giving birth to my lovers baby. He would be pristine, the most perfect of earthly creatures, and every fiber of my life would go to sustaining the two of them, lover and babe, because their existence would sustain me. A loving cycle. But he doesn’t want kids, I found out just yesterday. That if he found out I was pregnant he would flee the country. He says he can’t have them. And the idea of bringing a baby into the world frightens him even though he laughs it off. He said it was something about not wanting to pass on his tainted genes. He says there are too many bad people in his family and he doesn’t want to continue the line. Like Rhoda from the Bad Seed, apparently children can be born evil, no matter how good the upbringing and here I thought that all babies were born pure and clean. It’s scary and sad, but maybe true.

I guess I’m a little crestfallen, is all. I haven’t dwelt on the joys of having a baby but when you’re showing signs of pregnancy your mind starts to wander. Yes, I’ve had the nausea, the abdominal cramps, dizziness, lower back pains, all that. But that’s beside my point. I imagined, briefly, a beautiful baby, all mine. I would rock him to sleep every night, wake up every two hours to breastfeed him and hold him close to my chest. I’d take him to fields, open rolling hills and apple orchards and show him the joy of running. In the winter we would catch snowflakes on black paper so he’ll know that uniqueness is the norm, but is to be celebrated. I’d take him to the ocean to swim, see fish, and we could pretend that the sea is where forever starts. I would teach him colors and how to sing and about animals on the earth and about how monkeys, chameleons and seahorses tails’ are called ‘prehensile.’ I would teach him about space, where creation is. We would learn about all the plants of the earth and I would show him healing, caring, love and simple human kindness, by actions because sometimes they speak better than words. We would stand on the edge of the earth, spread our arms and pretend to fly. We would dream together and most importantly, be together. And when he leaves me and is grown, I will be so proud of him and miss him in a tangle of emotions like love, joy and happy sadness because feeling is life. But my lover doesn’t want a baby. Not now, not later.

Not ever.

5 comments on “A Perfect Creature

  • Ok, and I thought that some of my posts were hard to write, I see the anger in your words but mostly I feel the loneliness in your words, why are you so lonely, I sit and wonder for in your words are pride, love healing and wonder, wonder at the world around, about how you can see so easily your life and the life a child yet unborn. About the fear if your lover should find you with child. You see things that others don’t even contemplate, would that I could make you feel less alone.

    Dan Kline

    • I do feel alone but there are always people around which is the weird thing. Talking to you already makes me feel less alone. Helping others in pain makes me feel like I’m holding a hand. A lot of people don’t like living on Earth but I really like it here. I guess I haven’t really found a reason to dislike it. People are mean and sometimes they can make it hard to live here but they weren’t born that way and I understand that there are many things that make a person who they are. I know that there is pain that can drive them to tears, abuse that can break their spirits, and hate that can crush their hearts. Sometimes it’s all three or even more than that. Knowing that, it’s just really hard to not love this place with the trees and the sky and the sun being so warm and the rain being so…rainy. I guess I feel alone because I haven’t found anyone that loves it here as much as I do and I can’t relate to anyone about being alive, the thing I love most.

  • If your so-called lover doesn’t want children, what’s the point in being with him, he’s in it for the wrong reason and is not good for you. And if he doesn’t want children, why destroy the life that may be within you. I know a family that adopted a little boy – the adopted mom was at the hospital during the birth. The birth father wasn’t a good man, but the mom wanted the best for her baby. Now she can stay in his life without the father destroying him. May God bless you and guide you.

  • Leave a comment